Kumar Khadga Bikram Adventurous Award: Kumar Khadga is the founder President of NMA. His tenure as President of NMA was from 1993- 1970. He is one of the great academicians and had deep interest in mountain and mountaineering. He also led successfully as General Leader of Tri-nation (Nepal, Japan and China) Everest Expedition 1990. His contribution in the establishment of NMA and in raising the image of NMA in UIAA is very appreciative. Kumar Khadga Bikram Adventurous Award was established in 2004 and it is awarded to Nepalese and foreign national in alternate year involved in courageous contribution in rescue activities on the mountains of Nepal.

Kumar Khadga Bickram Sahasik Puraskar

  1. Lt. Col. Gunja Man Singh Lama                                - 2004
  2. Maurice Herzog - (France)                                       - 2005
  3. Capt. Madan K.C.                                                  - 2006
  4. Ms. Megan Macgrath - (Canada)                                - 2007
  5. Nepal Mountaineering Instructors' Association               - 2009
  6. Mr. Lakpa Geljen Sherpa                                         - 2009
  7. Mr. Gullermo Benegas (Willie) (USA)                         - 2011
  8. Mr. Damian Benegas                  (USA)                    - 2011
  9. Mr. Lakpa Sherpa                                                  - 2012
  10. Capt. Jason Laing                                                  - 2014
  11. Mr. Tshering Pande Bhote                                                -2015



Dr. Harka Gurung Mountaineering Award:  Dr. Harka Gurung was also the chief advisor of Nepal Mountaineering Association from2002-2006 AD. His main areas of professional interest included demography, development planning, environment, geography, sociology, and tourism. He was a prominent conservation expert and Nepal’s foremost authority on the Himalaya, making significant contributions to the promotion of mountain tourism and the conservation of wildlife and environment. Harka lead the government committee formed to provide names to mountain peaks in the late 1970s. Dr. Gurung is the first Tourism Minister of Nepal. He also worked in academia as demonstrator at the University of Edinburgh, research fellow at the School of Oriental and African Studies at the University of London, lecturer at Tribhuvan University, and visiting fellow at the Population Institute/East-West Center. Dr. Harka Gurung Mountaineering Award was established in 2007. This award is distributed to Nepalese and foreign national in alternate year involved in the following areas.


  • Research, prepare and published thoughtful report on Nepal’s mountain tourism
  • Travelogue, literature focused Nepal’s on mountain tourism
  • Implementation of creative thought for the development of Nepal’s mountain tourism
  • Conservation of mountain environment in Nepal
  • Appreciative contribution in mountain tourism of Nepal


Dr. Harka Gurung Parbatiya Puraskar

  1. Ms. Elizabeth Hawley                                     - 2006
  2. Mr. Takashi Miyahara                                     - 2007
  3. Avia Club of Nepal                                         - 2009
  4. Mr. Pratik Dhakal                                           - 2009
  5. Late Mr. Jean Coudrey -  (France)                     - 2011
  6. Himalayan Rescue Association                          - 2012
  7. Brougton Coburn                                           - 2014
  8. Mr. Mahabir Pun                                                       -2015


Dawa Norbu Mountain Tourism Journalism Award: Dawa Norbu Sherpa was President of Nepal Mountaineering Association from

2050-2054. Mr. Sherpa played key role in the promotion of Nepal's mountain tourism. His contribution is also greatly, remembered for the establishment and operation of International Mountain Museum, Pokhara. The level of NMA's mountaineering training that attained today and its professional is also the result of Mr. Sherpa's hard work and dedication. NMA established this award for his contribution in the field of mountain tourism and it is awarded to only Nepalese citizen every year selected on the basis of the following areas.


  • Research, news and reporting published thoughtful report on Nepal’s mountain tourism.
  • Travelogue, literature and documentary focused on Nepal’s mountain tourism.
  • Contribution in uplifting the Nepal’s mountain tourism through news reporting, publications and documentary.

Dawa Norbu Parbatiya Paryatan Patrakarita Puraskar

  1. Ramesh Tiwari                                    - 2004
  2. Krishna Tamrakar                                - 2005
  3. Kedar Man Singh                                 - 2006
  4. Binaya Gurubacharya                            - 2007
  5. Gantabya Nepal                                   - 2009
  6. Sunrise Nepal                                      - 2009
  7. Tourism News Digest                             - 2009
  8. Mr. Raju Silwal                                    - 2011
  9. Mr. Bikash Prasad Lohani                       - 2012
  10. Mr. Amrit Bhadgaunle                            - 2014
  11. Mr. Narayan Bhandari                                -2015




Month  Year
Please enter the characters as display


Contact Address