Income Sources

  • Royalty fee of 33 peaks
  • General members fee
  • Associate members fee
  • Institutional members fee
  • Book holder members ID fee
  • Ticket sales IMM Pokhara & IMMP, Kakani
  • Miscellaneous


On 18 Jan 1978, Government of Nepal decided to authorize NMA to issue permits for 18 peaks between 5,587 meter to 6,654 meter in the Manang, Annapurna, Langtang and Khumbu area since 1978. Mera Peak (6,654.) is the tallest among these 18 peaks while Mardi Himal (5,587m.) is the smallest in altitude. Then on 16 Sep 2002, Government of Nepal authorized NMA to issue permits for another 15 peaks.These 33 peaks are also known as NMA Climbing Peaks.

At present, fees collected from issuing peak permits for 33 peaks to foreign climbing teams is the main financial resource of NMA. Beside this, NMA draws its financial resource from membership fees, donations, assistance and gifts received in cash and kind from the Government of Nepal, national and international individuals and organization.