July 17, 2011
Himalaya Tourism Conference 2006
Under the initiation of Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation (MoCTCA), Himalaya Tourism Conference took place on 11 and 12 Dec 2006.  NMA was the Member Secretary for the program where as MoCTCA, Ministry of Forests and Soil Conservation, Nepal Tourism Board, WWF Nepal, ICIMOD, National Trust for Nature Conservation, Himalayan Environment Trust-Nepal (HET-Nepal) were the organizers of the program.


The program was organized on the occasion of Golden Jubilee of Mt. Manaslu and Mt. Lhotse and International Mountain Day 2006. The basic objective of the program was to organize and revive and promote post-conflict mountain tourism in the Himalaya, to reduce impacts of tourism on Himalaya environment and cultures and to promote equitable sharing of tourism benefits with local communities.
11 Dec 2006
In the early morning on the first day of the conference, Mt. Manaslu and Mt. Lhotse Summiteers, national and international participants of the conference were driven from Tudikhel in an open jeep in a carnival atmosphere to Kathmandu Durbar Square for the traditional reception organized by Kathmandu Metropolitan City, Lalitpur Sub-Metropolitan City, Bhaktapur Municipality, Madhyapur Thimi Municipality and Kirtipur Municipality. Hon'lble Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation Pradeep Kumar Gyawali, MoCTCA Secretary Mr. Madhav Prasad Ghimire were present in the program. In the program, the twenty-two Mt. Manaslu and Mt. Lhotse summiteers were given plaque of honor and honored with garland and khadas.
Deputy Prime Minister Hon'ble K P Sharma Oli Inaugurating In the opening ceremony, Deputy Prime Minister Hon'ble K P Sharma Oli inaugurated Himalaya Tourism Conference 2006 a function at Hotel Hyatt, Kathmandu on the same day. Hon'ble Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation Pradeep Kumar Gyawali and Hon'ble Minister for Forests and Soil Conservation Dilendra Prasad Badu were also present in the program. In the program, the Chief Guest launched a special publication of NMA, Nepal Parbat and Sacred Himalayan Landscape Strategic Plan-Nepal (2006-2016) of the Ministry of Forests and Soil Conservation. The Chief Guest awarded Kumar Khadga Contribution Award to His Excellency Michel Jolivet, Ambassador of French Republic for veteran climber Mr. Maurice Herzog, First Annapurna Summiteer. He also felicitated national and international Mt. Manaslu and Mt Lhotse summiteers present in the program. Various prizes were distributed for individuals for their valuable services in their respective field.

During the conference, seven different papers on mountaineering, livelihood and environment were presented.

  1. Managing Mountain Biodiversity for Better Life by Dr. Krishna Chandra Poudel 
    (Ministry of Forests and Soil Conservation),
  2. Developing Mountain Tourism Opportunities & Challenges by Mr. Robert Pettigrew 
    (President, Access & Conservation Commission),
  3. Community Based Tourism for Equitable Socio-Economic Development by Mr. Ravi Jung Pandey 
    (National Program Manager, TRPAP),
  4. Harmonizing Tourism & Environment by Dr. Lhakpa Norbu Sherpa (Director, TMI),
  5.  Mountaineering in Nepal- Prospects & Challenges by Prof. Indra Narayan Manadhar (Department of Geography, TU),
  6. Tourism Marketing Opportunities and Challenges by Mr. Tek Bahadur Dangi (CEO, NTB) and
  7. Enabling Policies for Mountain Tourism by Mr. Dipendra Purush Dhakal(Ex-Secretary, MoCTCA).
12 Dec 2006
The closing ceremony of the conference was organized on 12 Dec 2006 at Hotel Hyatt under the chairmanship of Hon'ble Minister Pradeep Kumar Gyawali. In his concluding speech, he said that Nepal's mountains were not only an object of mountain tourism attraction but also the unique culture and civilization of the mountain people, attention should be paid towards the livelihood of local people in order to ensure their participation in its preservation. He also urged foreign mountaineers and intellectuals to spread around the world the message that Nepal has now become a peaceful and safe destination. Secretary at the Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation, Madhav Ghimire said emphasis should be given on the rural and eco-tourism for sustainable tourism development. Mr. Nazeer Sabir, President, Alpine Club of Pakistan, Dr. Siddhattha Bajracharya- Member Secretary, NTNC, Mr. Tek Bahadur Dangi- CEO, NTB, Dr. Gabriel Campbell- Director General, ICIMOD, Mr. Franc Ekar- President, Alpine Association of Slovenia, Mr. Robert Pettigrew-President, Access & Conservation Commission, UIAA also expressed their thoughts regarding the conference. In the vote of thanks, NMA President Mr. Ang Tshering Sherpa thanked all the organizers and supporters involved in organizing this conference successfully and expressed that such type of conference will help future developers in their endeavors to promote and develop Nepal. 
Month  Year
Please enter the characters as display


Contact Address