Page 4 - Nepal Mountaineering Association

The Government of Nepal authorized NMA on 18th January 1978 to issue permits
for 18 Himalayan peaks of between 5,587 and 6,654 meters in the areas of Manang,
Annapurna, Langtang, and Khumbu. On 16th September 2002, NMA was awarded
the additional responsibility of issuing mountaineering permits for 15 additional
peaks making 33 peaks in total.
In this regard, NMA is proud to publish a book containing information about all the
peaks managed by NMA. The publication of this book is another way of the NMA’s
major steps in disseminating mountain information about the Nepal Himalaya.
I hope this booklet will be of great help for all the mountaineers, trekking companies,
students and other individuals interested in alpinism in the Himalayas.
I would like to extend my sincere thanks to the Central Working Committee and the
Convener of the Environment Conservation Committee and its members for taking
the initiative in publishing this book. My appreciation also goes to all of those who
have contributed from their own sector to publish this revealing and useful book.
Thank you,
Zimba Zangbu Sherpa
August 2012
Message from
the President