September 2018

Nepal Mountaineering Association



Review and update programs of NMA- 5 Sep

Nepal Mountaineering Association (NMA) organized a program on 4 Sep to review and update programs of NMA on the occasion of completion of first year of the current Central Executive Board. Hon'ble Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation Rabindra Adhikari was chief guest for the program. The program moderated by General Secretary Kul Bahadur Gurung started with the welcome speech from Secretary Tika Ram Gurung. NMA General Secretary Mr. Gurung highlighted all the programs and activities conducted in the first year through powerpoint. Hon' ble Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation Rabindra Adhikari shared his opinion the role of NMA in the promotion and development of Nepal's mountain tourism. He also updated the forthcoming programs of the ministry with the target to promote Visit Nepal 2020 and urged NMA to focus its policy and programs for the same. NMA President Santa Bir Lama expressed his satisfaction for the successful completion of first year and committed to move ahead with more constructive programs for the betterment of NMA and Nepal's mountain tourism. Mr. President also donated Rs 98208 for Mountaineering Disaster Relief and Educational Support Fund (MDRES Fund). The fund is created for the management of support for the children of mountaineers deceased during mountaineering. Chief adviser of NMA Lhakpa Sonam Sherpa, representatives of travel related organizations, journalists, government officials were also present in the program.

Review and update programs of NMA

28th Annual General Meeting- 27 Sep

The 28th Annual General Meeting of Nepal Mountaineering Association (NMA) was concluded on 27th Thursday at Hotel Yellow Pagoda, Kantipath. Hon'ble Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation Rabindra Adhikari was the chief guest of the program. High Level Government Officials, Advisors of NMA, different representatives from tourism sectors, tourism entrepreneurs along with the general members of NMA were present in the Annual General Meeting; Program was officially started with the National Anthem of Nepal and one minute silence in the names of different national & international mountaineers who lost their life during Mountaineering.

The chief guest of the program felicitated the following top ten resource members during the fiscal year 2074/075 for depositing the service charge by issuing the highest number of climbing.

1 Himalayan Ecstasy Nepal Treks & Expedition Pvt. Ltd.
2 Summit Nepal Trekking
3 Snowy Horizon Treks & Expedition (P) Ltd.
4 Asian Trekking P.Ltd.
5 Mountain Monarch Adventure Pvt. Ltd
6 Asian Hiking Team P.Ltd.
7       Satori Adventures Pvt.Ltd.
8 Thamserku Trekking
9 Makalu Adventures Pvt. Ltd.

Gravity Himalayan Excursion P.Ltd.








The chief guest also distributed the certificates to the participants and instructors of Basic Mountaineering Course 2018 and Mountain leader course. A short description Convener of Award Selection Committee Mr. Nima Nuru Sherpa regarding the criteria for selection along with the declaration of their respective names was given for Kumar Khadka Bikram Adventurous Award, Dr. Harka Gurung Mountaineering Award and Dawa Norbu Mountaineering Journalist Award. Chief guest of the program Dawa Norbu Mountaineering Tourism Journalism Award 2018 to Mr. Rajan Pokhrel, The Himalayan Times and Mr. Chhetu Sherpa, Annapurna Post. Mr. Sherpa also announced that Kumar Khadka Bikram Mountaineering Award and Dr. Harka Gurung Mountaineering Award 2018 will be awarded to summiteer Um Hong Gil and Inn Jeoung lee respectively. On the same occasion, NMA Staff Satya Narayan Raya was also awarded with Employee of the year 2017.

In the remarks made by the chief guest, he mentioned about the importance of mountain and mountaineering for the development of our nation. He also assured his full cooperation on the agendas put forwarded by NMA President in his welcome speech. The chief guest also distributed cheques of scholarship to the students supported under NMA welfare program, disable mountaineers and students supported under Mountain Disaster Relief And Education Support Fund (MDRES).

In the 2nd Session of the meeting NMA Secretary, Mr. Tikaram Gurung welcomed all the general members of NMA. General Secretary Mr Kul Bahadur Gurung presented the progress report of the fiscal year 2074/75 and Treasurer Mr. Sudarshan Neupane presented the financial statement of the fiscal year 2074/75 along with the annual program with budget for the fiscal year 2075/76. After the presentation, the general members deeply discussed in the presented programs and budget and questioned General Secretary, Treasurer and other members of Executive Board on some matters related with the budget. After thorough discussion, the general meeting endorsed all the plan-programs and budget. Finally, NMA 1st Vice President Mr. Deebas Bickram Shah thanked all the general members for their presence and assistance in approving the programs for the fiscal year 2075/76.