Mera Peak

Mera Peak (6,654 m) is the highest permitted trekking peak of Nepal. It stands to the south of Everest and dominates the watershed between the heavily wooded valleys of the Hinku and Hongu Drangkas.

J.O.M. Roberts and Sen Tenzing made the first successful ascent of Mera Peak on 20 May 1953. The route they used is still the standard route. There are many other routes to the peak, but none of them are easy. Some of them require crossing very high and difficult passes. This leads to a true mountaineering experience. In the end, all efforts and hard work is paid off with spectacular scenery as Mera provides one of the finest viewpoints in Nepal.

Mera Peak offers a panoramic view of Chamlang, Kangchenjunga, Makalu, and Baruntse in the east and the peaks of Cho-Oyu, Ama Dablam and Kangtega to the west. Everest can be viewed to the north over the massive unclimbed south face of Lhotse and the Nuptse/Lhotse ridge. Under favourable conditions, it is possible to climb the peak and descend back on the same day.

  • Days 01 : Arrival at Kathmandu
  • Days 02 : Stay in Kathmandu for the official procedure
  • Days 03 : Fly to Lukla
  • Days 04 : Trek to Chuthanga
  • Days 05 : Trek to Chetarbu Kharka
  • Days 06 : Trek to Kothe, forest Camp
  • Days 07 : Trek to Thangnak
  • Days 08 : Acclimatization at Thangnak
  • Days 09 : Trek to Khahare
  • Days 10 : Rest at Khahare
  • Days 11 : Trek to Mera high camp
  • Days 12 : Summit to Mera Peak
  • Days 13 : Extra summit day
  • Days 14 : Trek back to Thnagnak
  • Days 15 : Trek to Tashing Dingma
  • Days 16 : Trek to Chetava Kharka
  • Days 17 : Trek to Chuthangma
  • Days 18 : Trek to Lukla
  • Days 19 : Fly back to Kathmandu
  • Days 20 : Rest day at Kathmandu
  • Days 21 : Departure on your destination

Number of Permit and Climbers of NMA Climbing Peaks