International Mountain Museum Day
February 5, 2013

NMA organized various programs on the occasion of  8th anniversary of International Mountain Museum (IMM) on 5 Feb 2011. The program began with worshiping program conducted at Lakhang by Lakhang committee headed by Mr. Hari Dhoj Tulachan. IMM was officially inaugurated on 4 Feb 2004.On the same occasion, IIIrd Climbing Wall Competition (open) was organized at Maurice Herzog Climbing Wall located in IMM premises. The chief gust for the program was Regional Administrator Arjun Bahadur Bhandari.

The chief guest awarded the prize money to the winners of the competition. Mr. Deb Bahadur Gurung, Mr. Bijay K C and Mr. Basant Neupane stood Ist, IInd and IIIrd respectively in the men group where as Ms. Anita Rai, Ms. Indra Kala Rai and Ms. Lila Maya Shahi stood I st, II nd and III rd respectively in the women group of the competition. The chief guest also welcomed runner Mr. Ratna Tuladhar, who covered 200km from NMA central office at Kathmandu to IMM Pokhara to promote IMM on the occasion of IMM day.

The second session of the program began with the welcome speech delivered by IInd Vice President Mr. Santa Bir Lama.  In the program, former IInd Vice President of NMA Mr. Birkum Pandey handed over some major mountaineering equipments related with Ist ascent of Kanchenungha given by the first Kanchenjungha summiteer, George Band for the display at IMM.  

Other guests present in the programs were Mr. Tika Ram Sapkota, President- Pokhara Tourism Council, Khagda Bahadur Ranabhat- President- NMA Annapurna Chapter, and Immediate Past President Mr. Ang Tshering Sherpa NMA Advisors Ms. Yanakila Sherpa, Mr. Nawang Dorje Sherpa and Mr. D.B. Koirala were also present in the program. Also present were the tourism related entrepreneurs from Pokhara.


  • International Mountain Museum Day