Newly elected NMA office Bearers assume office from today
June 24, 2022

Newly elected office bearers of Nepal Mountaineering Association (NMA) have assumed office from today. President Nima Nuru Sherpa and his team assumed office at NMA secretariat Hattisar Kathmandu amidst a function.

Earlier in the day a handover-takeover & farewell ceremony was organised where the outgoing team handed over the responsibility to newly elected office bearers.  Outgoing president Mr. Santa Bir Lama and General Secretary Mr. Kul Bahadur Gurung handed over the minutes of the central working committee to newly elected President Mr. Nima Nuru Sherpa and General Secretary Mr. Mohan Lamsal. Outgoing president Mr. Lama informed that 81 meetings were held during his tenure.

Outgoing treasurer Mr. Sudarshan Neupane also handed over the keys of the treasury to newly elected treasurer Mr. Mukti Pandey. The team also took the oath of secrecy from the chief election officer advocate Dr. Gokul Prasad Burlakoti. 

In the ceremony, chief guest and former Prime minister Hon’ble Pusps Kamal Dahal ‘’Prachanda’’ bade the farewell to outgoing executive board of NMA by presenting the certificate of appreciation. He also distributed the certificate of election to the newly elected central executive board of NMA. 

Addressing the gathering, former prime minister Dahal opined that it's better for the government to embark on a partnership with NMA for the promotion of the peaks. 

‘‘I know you have reminded me time and again regarding the unclimbed and unnoticed peaks of Nepal. NMA team, in our last meeting in Khumaltar had also raised the same issue’’, former Prime minister Dahal said, ‘‘I personally also think that it's better for government to embark in the partnership with NMA for the promotion and publicity of Nepal’s unclimbed peaks.’’

‘‘The government should also look after the situation of climbers, mountain workers. Government should invest for the life security of mountaineers’’, He added.

Earlier, newly elected president Mr. Sherpa had urged the government to assign NMA with the responsibility of promoting unclimbed and sacred peaks of Nepal. ‘‘Currently NMA is managing the 27 peaks. We have so many unclimbed and unpromoted peaks of Nepal. If the government assign with responsibility of promotion of rest of the peaks, the Nation would be benefited with it.’

Outgoing president Lama said that his team tried to work for the betterment of NMA.  ‘‘This is the happiest moment for me in my tenure. This is how I wanted to hand over the term. Me and my team tried to work for the betterment of the NMA.’’ Mr. Lama said, ‘‘I also want to challenge all to sue me if me and my team found guilty in any decision made in our tenure.’’

Nima Nuru was elected president of NMA through the elections held on 10th and 11th of June, 2022. Sherpa had won 735 votes. His nearest rival Mr. Rajendra Man Shrestha secured 122 votes.

Thakur Raj Pandey has been elected as the vice president. Ang Dawa Sherpa has been elected as the first vice president and Dawa Yangzum Sherpa as the second vice president. Similarly, Mohan Lamsal has won the post of General Secretary, Dhan Bahadur Gurung as Secretary and Mukti Pandey as Treasurer. 

Likewise, Ang Dawa Sherpa, Kishan Gurung, Singi Lama, Pitamber Gurung, Rajendra Bahadur Lama, Ram Chandra Dhamala, Namgyal Jangbu Sherpa, Pasang Dawa Sherpa, Dinesh Tamang, Doma sherpa, Ngima Doma sherpa, Tul Sing Gurung, Lal Bahadur Waiba, Lama Babu Sherpa, Pasang Tenzing Sherpa and Ang Norbu Sherpa have been elected as members of the new executive committee.


  • Nepal Mountaineering Association NMA Handover-Takeover & Farewell Ceremony NMA central Executive Board NMA Election