24th Annual General Meeting (AGM)- 8 August

August 12, 2014

The 24th Annual General Meeting (AGM) of Nepal Mountaineering Association (NMA) was held on 8th August 2014 at Naxal Banquet, Kathmandu.  Hon’ble Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation Mr. Bhim Acharya was the chief guest of the program. High level government officials, advisors of NMA, representative from different tourism related organization and general members were also present in the program. The program observed one-minute silence in memory of the demise of known and unknown mountaineers. After the welcome speech delivered by Ist  Vice President Mr. Santa Bir Lama, Chief Guest for the program inaugurated the program by watering on the plants.
NMA formed the selection committee headed by NMA chief advisor Yankila Sherpa to select personals involved in the rescue activities in the avalanche occurred on Mt. Everest on 18 April 2014.  Ms. Sherpa presented the details about the selection procedure and informed that rescuers were selected on the basis of report submitted by trekking companies involved in the expedition during 18 April. In the program, the trekking companies were requested to take certificates on behalf of the rescuer involved in the rescue process.
The chief guest also felicitated the following resource members for issuing the highest number of climbing permits for NMA peaks during fiscal year 2069/70 and 2070/71.
Summit Nepal Trekking
Thamserku Trekking
Multi Adventure
Himalayan Ecstasy Nepal Treks and Expedition
Himalayan Guides Nepal Trekking and Expedition
Asian Trekking Pvt.ltd
Snowy Horizon Treks and Expedition
Adventure Geo Treks
Cosmos Trek Pvt. Ltd
Unique Adventure International

Himalayan Ecstasy Nepal Treks and Expedition
Snowy Horizon Treks and Expedition
Summit Nepal Trekking
Thamserku Trekking
Royal Mountain High Treks Nepal
Himalayan Expedition Inc.
Himalayan Guides Nepal Trekking and Expedition
Makalu Adventure Pvt. Ltd.
Himalayan Glacier Trekking Pvt. Ltd.
Cosmos Trek Pvt. Ltd
Asian Trekking Pvt. Ltd.

In the same program, Mr. Madhu Basnet, working as computer officer, was honored with gold medal and certificate of long-term service at NMA. The chief guest also distributed certificate to Ms. Maya Sherpa, Ms. Dawa Yanjung Sherpa, and Ms. Pasang Lhamu Sherpa- the members of First Nepali Women K2 Expedition for their successful ascent on Mt. K2.

The first session of AGM also witnessed the remarks from Mr. Ramesh Dhamala-President of Joint Tourism Coordination Committee, Hon'ble Minister Mr. Bhim Acharya and finally, vote of thanks by NMA President Mr. Ang Tshering Sherpa. In his remarks, he expressed his gratefulness to the minister for his gracious presence in the program. He also shed light on the updated information on peak profile formation, Mountain Disaster Relief and Educational Support Fund, mountaineering training, welfare programs etc. Because of the increasing responsibility of NMA in the field of mountaineering, he informed that it is not possible for NMA to work with the current source of income; hence he requested government to give some additional peaks for the management.

In the second session of the meeting, General Secretary Mr Thakur Raj Pandey and Treasurer Tika Gurung presented the progress report, financial statement of the fiscal year 2069/2070 and 2070/71 along with the annual program with budget for the fiscal year 2071/2072. The general members deeply discussed in the presented programs and budget and questioned General Secretary, Treasurer on some matters related with the budget. After thorough discussion, the general meeting endorsed all the plan-programs and budget. On the same program executive members opened the six proposal received and among them Gautam Shankar and Associates  was selected for Audit of 2071/72 financial details. Finally, IInd Vice President Mr. Deebas Bikram Shah thanked all the general members for their presence and assistance in approving the programs for the fiscal year 2070/2071.


Month  Year