41st NMA Day celebrated 1st Nov

November 02, 2014

Nepal Mountaineering Association celebrated its 41st Anniversary Day on 1st November 2014 at NMA Secretariat, Naxal Kathmandu. Secretary for Ministry of Tourism, Mr. Suresh Man Shrestha was the chief guest of the program. High level government officials, advisors and members of NMA and representative from different tourism related organization were present in the program. The program observed one-minute silence in memory of the demise of known and unknown mountaineers. The chief guest of the program inaugurated the program by hoisting NMA flag. 

After the welcome speech delivered by first VP Mr. Santa Bir Lama, Mr. Ramesh Dhamala- Coordinator, Joint Tourism Coordination Committee and Ms. Yankila Sherpa- Chief advisor also express their views on the activities of NMA. 

Mr. Ang Tshering Sherpa announced the name of the award receivers, which are as follows:

1. Late Kumar Khadka Bikram Adventurous Award - This award is given to helicopter Captain Pilot Jason Andrew Laing for his active involvement in the avalanche happened on Everest on 18 April 2014. He has great experience on long rain rescue and he was actively involved in the following rescue activities on different mountains. 
• 9th April 2014 Mt. Ama Dablam 
• 22nd April 2014 Birunchi 
• 30th April 2014 Ama Dablam
• 23rd April 2014 Himlung
• 27th April 2014 Annapurna I

2. Dr. Harka Gurung Mountaineering Award – This award is given to America national Mr. Broughton Coburn for his contribution for the development of our mountain tourism. He has been coming to Nepal since 40 years and written many books on the mountain tourism of Nepal. Some of his books are as follows :
• Everest : Mountain without mercy
• Triump on Everest : A Photo – Biography of Sir Edmund Hillary
• Touching my Father's Soul – A Sherpa's Jouney to the top of Everest
• Himalaya : personal stories of Grandeur, Challenge, and Hope
• The Vast Unknown: America's First Ascent of Everest
• Aama in America
• Nepali Aama

3. Dawa Norbu Mountaineering Journalist Award – This award is given to by Mr. Amrit Bhadgaunle for his continuous writings focused on different tourism destinations of Nepal. His article gives information about the destination including mode of transportation, equipments and clothes that should be carried with explanation on the pricing etc.

The award receivers were selected by Award Selection and Evaluation Committee headed by Mr. Buddhi Narayan Shrestha. The other members of the committee were Dr. Ganesh Gurung, Rajendra Man Shrestha- Secretary, Puspa Raj Katwal- Representative, Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation, Dr. Nima Namgyal Sherpa- Convener, Mountaineering Rescue Committee, Hari Raj Joshi- President, JAT Nepal and Jinesh Sindurakar- CEO as Member Secretary.

Dr. Ganesh Gurung Member of Award selection Committee explained about the criteria and procedure that were followed for the selection of award receivers. 

The award will be distributed in its Annual General Assembly in September.

Month  Year