Press Conference-24 May 2016

May 24, 2016

We would like to inform you that to celebrate International Sagarmatha Day 2016 (Everest Day) on 29th May 2016 Main Organizing Committee is formed under the chairmanship of Secretary of Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation Mr. Prem Kumar Rai. Nepal mountaineering Association(NMA) is the Member Secretary of this committee. In order to inform you about this program detail,we organized a press conference  on 24th May 2016, Today at 1:00 pm at Nepal Tourism Board.

Press release

9th International Sagarmatha (Everest) Day

29 May 2016, Sunday

 It is our great pleasure to inform you that Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation has decided to celebrate 9th International Everest day on 29th May 2016. In order to celebrate the program, Int'l Everest Day Main Organizing Committee has been formed under my chairmanship. Nepal Mountaineering Association is the Member Secretary of this committee and coordinating the programme. The other members of the committee are Joint Secretary of MoCTC, Director General of Department of Tourism, CEO of Nepal Tourism Board, Presidents of HRA, EOA, PATA, NARA, NATTA, HAN, TAAN, ESA, EOAN, TTDB and VITOF. The committee has decided to invite Hon'ble Minister of Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation, Ananda Pokharel as a chief guest for 9th International Sagarmatha (Everest) Day. The program on 29th May will begin with the morning procession starting from Thamel, Tridevi Marg and will conclude at Nepal Tourism Board's premises, where the formal program will be held.

 The Expeditions on Everest was disturbed since 2013.  This year more than 400 Nepalese and Foreign Summiteers climbed the Mt. Everest successfully. Due to the local dispute in 2013; the avalanche of 2014, which was killed 16 Nepalese Everest Climbers and Earthquake of April of the last year, created the situation of worst upon mountain tourism of Nepal. But this year's successful expeditions erased all these negative connotations and helped our mountain tourism to reposition it almost in previous stage. While talking about the successful expeditions, it is worthwhile to mention about the contribution of nine Nepalese climbers this year, who fixed the rope on the way to the summit of Everest in this season on time. They completed the very difficult task of rope fixation putting their lives in risk and their achievement is reflected in the successful ascent of Everest by more than 400 climbers in the Spring Season of this year. Therefore, on this occasion of International Sagarmatha (Everest) Day, the chief guest of the program will felicitate those courageous hard worked climbers with the cash prize of Rs. 50,000 per climber managed by Nepal Mountaineering Association. On the same occasion, we have also the program of first day cancellation of envelope published to mark Int'l Everest Day. Other expenses are supported by Department of Tourism and NTB by their regular budget and programme.

 Last month, we have successfully celebrated the Mt. Manaslu and the Mt. Lhotse Diamond Jubilee Celebration. The successful diamond jubilee celebrations of these two mountains in the presence of the member of first successful expedition on Mansalu- Minoru Higeta spread the message of our reviving mountain tourism. Now, we are celebrating 9th International Sagarmtha (Everest) day, which has become very important for the promotion of our tourism over all after the devastating earthquake and blockade. We must be ready to make such kind of event more fruitful in future also. We are planning to celebrate the diamond jubilee of all the mountains above 8000 meters in proper time. We need to joint effort to make International Sagarmatha (Everest) Day as an International Day in practice in all over the world. At last, I would like to request to you all to make this event success. I also request the all concern agencies and individuals for their active and meaningful contribution for this event.


Thank you all

 Prem Kumar Rai

Chairman, International Sagarmatha (Everest) Day Main Organizing Committee

Secretary, Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation

24 May 2016

Month  Year