26th Annual General Meeting (AGM) – 7th September 2016

September 08, 2016

NMA's 26th Annual General Meeting was held on 7th September 2016 at Hotel Yak & Yeti, Durbarmarg, Kathmandu. Hon'ble Minister for Culture Tourism and Civil Aviation Mr.Jeeban Bahadur Shahi was the chief guest for the program. High level government officials, NMA advisors, representative from tourism related organization, tourism entrepreneurs along with general members were present during the program. The program observed one minute slience in the memory of the demise of all national and international mountaineers. First Vice President Mr. Santa Bir Lama welcomed everyone in the hall which was followed by the inaugural program done by watering the plant by the chief guest.


In the program the chief guest felicitated the following resource member for issuing the highest number of climbing permit for NMA peaks during fiscal year 2072/073.

  1. Snowy Horizon Treks & Expedition (P) Ltd.             -           1st
  2. Himalayan Ecstasy Nepal Treks & Expedition Pvt. Ltd. -     2nd
  3. Himalayan Ecstasy Pvt. Ltd.                                      -           3rd
  4. Satori Adventure Pvt. Ltd.                                         -           4th
  5. Adventure Geo Treks (P) Ltd.                                    -           5th
  6. Summit Nepal Trekking                                              -           6th      
  7. Himalayan Guides Nepal Trekking & Expedition      -           7th
  8. Asian Hiking Team (P.) Ltd.                                      -           8th
  9. ACE The Himalaya Trekking (P) Ltd.                        -           9th
  10. Makalu Adventures  Pvt. Ltd                                     -           10th

After this NMA advisor and Convener of Award Selection Committee Mr. Buddhi Narayan Shrestha gave brief introduction and criteria of selection of  Kumar Khadka Bikram Adventurous Award, Dr. Harka Gurung Mountaineering Award, and Dawa Norbu Mountaineering Journalist Award. In the same program family member of late Kumar Khadka Bikram Shah, Mr. Deebas Bikram Shah and Chief Guest awarded Kumar Khadka Bikram Adventurous Award to "First Person from Nepal" Long Line Helicopter Rescue Specialist, Mr. Tshering Pande Bhote for his active Long Line Rescue from 1995 to 2015 including the avalanche happened on Everest on 18 April 2014 along with other rescue activities on different mountains.

Ms. Saroj Gurung, wife of late Dr. Harka Gurung and Chief Guest awarded Dr. Harka Gurung Mountaineering Award to Mr. Mahabir Pun, a Nepalese teacher known for his extensive work in applying wireless technologies to develop remote areas of the Himalayas. He is also known as the "Wireless Man of Myagdi "The wireless technology innovated is used to track the trekkers and mountaineering on their way. It helps to find the lost one easily. He has received the following Awards: 

•   Social Innovations Award from the Global Ideas Bank
•   Magsaysay Award, considered by some to be the Nobel Prize of Asia
•  Jonathan B. Postel Service Award by the Internet Society

Ms. Dawa Yanji Sherpa, wife of late Dawa Norbu Sherpa and Chief Guest awarded Dawa Norbu Mountaineering Journalist Award to Mr. Narayan Bhandari for his continuous effort in promoting the Tourism and Mountain Tourism in Nepal through radio and television.


Along with this award distribution NMA also distributed Letter of Appreciation to the instructor and certificate to all participant of 36th Basic Mountaineering Course 2016 and also distributed cheque to the students and disable mountaineers supported by NMA.


After the certificate distribution program Hon'ble CA Members Mr. Ramhari Khatiwada, Mr. Rameshwor Phuyal and Mr. Tek Bahadur Basnet expressed their views on the development of tourism sector in Nepal. This was followed by the remarks from Mr. Amar Man Shakya, Acting President of Hotel Association of Nepal (HAN) and Mr, Chandra Prasad Rija, President of TAAN. On behalf of the participant from 36th Basic Mountaineering Course 2016 Ms. Bhumira Gurung expressed her experience of training and importance of this training in mountaineering sector.  Mr. Surya Thapa, representative from Department of Tourism expressed his view on the importance of Mountain Tourism in the development of tourism sector of Nepal.


This was followed by the presentation by Mr. Manish Kayastha on behalf of Mr. & Mrs. M.L. Kayastha and Associates regarding the construction of NMA secretariat building.


Hon'ble Minister for Culture Tourism and Civil Aviation Mr. Jeeban Bahadur Shahi expressed his views regarding the importance of tourism in Nepal And finally the Chair Person of the program and President of NMA Mr. Ang Tshering Sherpa concluded the first session by his thank you note.


In the second session of the meeting, NMA Second Vice President Mr. Deebas Bikram Shah welcomed all general members for the meeting. General Secretary Mr Thakur Raj Pandey presented the progress report of the fiscal year 2072/2073 and Treasurer Tikaram Gurung presented the financial statement of the fiscal year 2072/73 along with the annual program with budget for the fiscal year 2073/2074. The general members deeply discussed in the presented programs and budget and questioned General Secretary, Treasurer and other members of Executive Board on some matters related with the budget. After thorough discussion, the general meeting endorsed all the plan-programs and budget. On the same program Treasurer informed that three proposal were received for Audit of 2073/74 financial details and among them Wagle & Associates was selected. Finally, NMA President Mr. Ang Tshering Sherpa thanked all the general members for their presence and assistance in approving the programs for the fiscal year 2073/2074.



Month  Year