Celebration of 10th International Sagarmatha Day-29th May 2017

May 30, 2017

Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation organized a program to celebrate 10th International Sagarmatha Day on 29th May 2017 at the premises of Nepal Tourism Board.  This program started with the welcome speech and highlight of the importance of mountaineering and mountain tourism by Mr. Ang Tshering Sherpa, Member Secretary for International Sagarmatha Day Main Organizing Committee & President, Nepal Mountaineering Association. Mt. Everest Summiteers and other mountaineers, High level government officials, advisors and members of Nepal Mountaineering Association (NMA), and representative from different tourism related organization were present in the program.


Chief guest The Hon'ble State Minister for Minister of Culture Tourism and Civil Aviation Ms.Sumitra Tharuni, inaugurated the program by lighting up the lamp. The program also observed one-minute silence in memory of the demise of known and unknown mountaineers. The Chief Guest and other participant offered garland to the statues of Tenzing Sherpa, Edmund Hillary and Boris Lisanevich.

On this occasion NMA chief advisor and Convener of Award Selection Committee Ms. Yankila Sherpa gave brief introduction and criteria of selection of 2 NMA award Kumar Khadga Bikram Adventurous Award and Dr. Harka Gurung Mountaineering Award. Chief Guest distributed appreciation letter to the winner of these award as mention below.

Kumar Khadga Bikram Adventurous

Kumar Khadga Bickram Adventurous Award – 2016 is awarded to Mr. Ken Nuguchi of Japan in recognition of his donation of 0,000 in Nepal Mountaineering Associations’s  Mountaineering Disaster Relief and Educational Support (MDRES) Fund for the management of scholarship for the children of mountaineers deceased during their expedition on mountain and also appreciate his generous contribution of relief materials for the earthquake affected people in Khumbu, Rolwaling and Manaslu area after the devastating earthquake on 25th April, 2015.

Dr. Harka Gurung Mountaineering Award

Dr. Harka Gurung Mountaineering Award - 2016 is awarded to Richard Ragan of USA for his vital contribution as Emergency Co-coordinator for the 2015 Nepal Earthquake Response for the distribution of earthquake relief materials with rehabilitation and reconstruction programs in earthquake affected areas of mountain regions.


On the same occasion Ms. Lhakpa Sherpa was also appreciated for being the first nepali women to Successful summit of Mt .Everest for 8 time. After that the chief guest also released first day cancellation of envelope published to mark International Sagarmatha (Everest) Day. This was followed by the view of the chief guest on importance tourism and mountain tourism in Nepal.


Mr. Shankar Prasad Adhikari, Chairman for international Sagarmatha Day Main Organizing committee and Secretary of Ministry of Culture Tourism and Civil Aviation distributed felicitated following courageous hard worked Rope Fixing Team with the cash prize of Rs. 25,000 per climber managed by Nepal Mountaineering Association.

  1. Lakpa Sherpa
  2. Pema Tshering
  3. Pem Chiri Sherpa
  4. Tashi Sherpa
  5. Dendi Sherpa
  6. Jyabu Bhote
  7. Kancha Nuru Sherpa
  8. Sonam Jangbu Sherpa

At the same time the he also felicitated following British 'Gorkha Army team

  1. Dhanni Rai
  2. Nirmal Purja
  3. Krishna Thapa Magar
  4. Pasang Sherpa
  5. Chimmi Lhenduk Gurung
  6. Lakpa Gelu Sherpa

Mr. Deepak Raj Joshi, CEO of NTB expressed his view about the Mountain Tourism in Nepal. Mr. James read out the message from Mr. Richard Regan who received Dr. Harka Gurung Mountaineering Award-2016. This was followed by the Remarks of Reinhold Messner. Finally the program concluded with the vote of thanks by Mr. Shankar Prasad Adhikari, Chairman for International Sagarmatha Day Main Organizing Committee and Secretary for Ministry for Culture Tourism and Civil Aviation.

Month  Year