12th International Sagarmatha (Everest) Day -29th May

June 06, 2019

Ministry of Culture Tourism and Civil Aviation organized a program to celebrate 12th International Sagarmatha (Everest) Day on 29th May 2019 with the slogan of Our priority, clean Sagarmatha. The program started with the morning procession from Sanchaya Kosh Building, Thamel and concluded at Nepal Tourism Board (NTB). The Chief Guest for the program, Hon'ble Minister Minister for Information and Communication Technology Mr. Gokul Prasad Baskota offered garland to the statues of Tenzing Sherpa, Edmund Hillary and Boris Lisanevich.

Mr. Mohan Krishna Sapkota, Chairman for International Sagarmatha Day Main Organizing Committee and Secretary of Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation, Mr. Dandu RaJ Ghimire, Director General, Department of Tourism, high level government officials, Everest summiteers and other national and international mountaineers, advisors and members of Nepal mountaineering Association (NMA), and representative from different tourism related organization were present in the program.

After offering garland to the statues all the participants were welcomed to at National City Hall with welcome dance. Mr. Santa Bir Lama, Member Secretary for 12th International Sagarmatha (Everest) Day main Organizing Committee and President, Nepal Mountaineering Association (NMA) welcomed everyone to the hall. The program observed one minute silence in the memory of deceased mountaineers. The chief guest officialy inaugurated the program by lighting paanas.

The program observed the MoU signing ceremony between NMA and Um Hong Gil Human Foundation for the construction of mountaineering school in Humde, Manang. Mr. Dandu RaJ Ghimire, Director General, Department of Tourism gave detail information about National Sagarmatha Award and Tenzing Hillary Award and the Chief Guest distributed following award and cash prize to the individuals.

National Sagarmatha Award
       Name                     Cash Prize
1. Um Hong Gil,        NRS. 1,00,000/-
Tenzing Hillary Award
           Name                                              Cash Prize
1. Mr. Anthony Gordon                           NRS 50,000/-
2. Maya Sherpa                                       NRS 50,000/-
3. Gyanendra Kumar Ahrestha               NRS 50,000/-

The Chief Guest also awarded letter of appreciation to Ms. Saarah Hillary (Daughter of late Edmund Hillary), Mr. Dawa Tamang (for his contribution in rescuing of Taiwanese couple after 47 days in April 2017 from Tiplling, Rasuwa, Langtang) and Ms. Nima Jangbu Sherpa (successful summit of Everest-14 May , Lhotse – 25 April 2018 and Kanchhenjungha 23 Nov 2018)
Director General of Department of Tourism presented on Mt. Everest Cleaning Campaign 2019 and the chief guest handover the letter of appreciation to the organizer, sponsor, base camp management and Sherpas involved in the Mt. Everest Cleaning Campaign 2019

1. Ministry of Culture, Tourism & Civil Aviation
2. Ministry of Forest & Environment
3. Nepali Army
4. Ministry of Industries, Tourism and Environment - State No. 1
5. Khumbu Pasang Lhamu Rural Municipality
6. Nepal Mountaineering Association (NMA)
7. Nepal Tourism Board (NTB)
8. Sagarmatha Pollution Control Committee (SPCC)
9. Sagarmatha National Park
10.Sagarmatha National Park Buffer Zone Management Committee


1. The Coca-cola Foundation
3. Visit Nepal 2020 year
4. Bottlers Nepal Limited
5. NMB Bank Limited 
6. Prabhu Bank Limited 
7. Nabil Bank Limited,
8. Tara Air 
9. Sonam Gear

Everest Base Camp Management :

1. Ang Temba Sherpa - SPCC
2. Dagelje Sherpa - Khumbu Pasang LhamuGaunPalika
3. Capt. Thaman Gurung - Nepali Army
4. Tikaram Gurung - Secretary NMA
5. Tshering Tenzing Sherpa - Base Camp Manager
6. Chitra Bahadur Gurung, Videographer

Climbers :

1. Pasang Nuru Sherpa
2. Pasang Chhiring Lama
3. Bikas Gurung
4. Pemba Nuru Sherpa
5. ChiringTasi Sherpa
6. Nima Thundu Sherpa
7. Lakpa Sherpa
8. Sange Sherpa

Hon'ble Minister Gokul Prasad Baskota for Information and Communication Technology expressed his view on importance of tourism for the development the country. Finally the program concluded with the vote of thanks by Mr. Mohan Krishna Sapkota, Chairman for International Sagarmatha Day Main Organizing Committee and Secretary of Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation.


Month  Year